The Wonder Years of Our Times

wonder years kidsOnce upon a time, kids rode their bikes around the burbs, stayed out till dusk, and checked in for a family dinner at 6 before heading out to cruise the neighborhood again. The family down the block was the family you also barbecued with and there was bound to be another kid in your grade who went to the same school.

Everyone watched out for each other’s kids, growing up and growing old together.

Today, we wouldn’t dare let our children ride their bikes by themselves, let alone stay out till dusk canvassing the neighborhood. And although I’ve seen my neighbors and waved a friendly hello, I’ve never been to their house for dinner.

Things are different today.  Children used to have more autonomy at a younger age. In our modern era, yes, kids still have autonomy, it’s just in a different form. Instead of riding bikes to meet up with your friends at the neighborhood park, technology is their escape. As the tech debate rages on, our kids continue to rewrite history with their iPhones.

Life is lived on the web.

Instead of meeting up at Johnny’s house for sodas before dinner, our kids are group texting or chatting online, blogging about their day and YouTubing about their woes.

Living life alone, together.

I have to admit, although I love my iPhone, I’m a little saddened that I didn’t get to grow up in a time where it was deemed safe and reasonable for me to ride my bike to my friend’s house alone or meet up at the malt shop to gossip about my latest crush.

I realize that yesteryear wasn’t all peachy keen and as a society we’ve made great strides towards for the betterment for all. But I wish I could adopt the good bits of that Wonder Years time — holding onto some of the innocence for just a little bit longer.

There’s a strong nostalgic quality that suddenly takes over when I think about how my parents grew up and how my kids will one day grow up. Maybe it’s not better or worse, maybe it’s just different.

Still, I think technology has unintentionally taken away some of the anticipation, the not-everything-at-your-finger-tips, the waiting.

The wonder of the Wonder Years.

Christine Terry, J.D., is the Founder & Executive Director of Terry Tutors Specialized Education Services.

She created the One Wraparound Service for The Struggling Student, which includes Academic, Behavior, Special Education Advocacy, and School Placement services. Christine truly loves helping struggling students realize their inner potential and the possibilities that await them in and out of the classroom.

What do you think?

